My sole new years resolution after the earth-shaking start of 2015: be in the present

Be hereQuite some days have passed since the attacks against Charlie Hebdo. Some days before, my grandma passed away. Both disturbing events and related to death but with a big difference: my grandmother’s death is logical because of her age, when Charlie Hebdo is not. I have needed all those days (and of course will need more) to assimilate the effect they had on me. Only now do I feel able to write something about it.

 The terrorist attacks made me feel both part of the fight for freedom but at the same time, not. Why? Because it made the freedom I am seeking here for TFMP so insubstantial compared to the freedom of expression and the danger that Fundamentalism is to freedom in general. And of course, being French and thinking about how politicians have been handling immigration and fundamentalism in France over the last years, I can only but feel concerned by it.

 And then, as each time such a slaughter happens, I start asking myself what it takes for someone to kill for his/her beliefs. I hereby include killings such as those in colleges as well. What is it that makes a person get into sects or join jihadists? There must be something in common.

 There are so many explications, political influences and theories, sociological and even anthropological but not that many comments are made on the type of emotional links terrorists have. I am not talking about taking away responsibility from the terrorists, don’t get me wrong. But What type of identity is the reference for those who kill others like this? How did they grow up? What type of relationship did they develop with their surroundings? What love and caring did they experience? What do they have in common that make them preys of such groups?

 As far as I am concerned, clearly there is a point behind these questions and this is what most impacted me: the quality of the relationships with our kids. I have a responsibility: it is not only for  me to teach them to be tolerant and respectful of others, but really it is about helping them to be strong enough not to turn themselves into victims of fanatism or simply seeking extreme references because they lack their own.And in order to do that, I want to be in the present, with them, spend a lot of my time in order to cultivate this. I know it is quite late in January to share this and this is MY 2015 resolution: being there because emotional bonds are all what really matters.


Hace ya unos cuantos días que ocurrieron las atrocidades de Charlie Hebdo.  Pocos días antes, nos había dejado mi querida abuela. Dos acontecimientos relacionados directamente con la muerte pero con un gran diferencia: en el caso de mi abuela, se trata de una muerte lógica por su edad pero en lo de Charlie Hebdo, en absoluto.

He necesitado todos estos días (y necesitaré más) para intentar asimilar el efecto que han tenido en mi estos dos acontecimientos. Y solo ahora puedo escribir sobre ellos.

 Los atentados me han hecho sentirme a la vez parte y no de la lucha por la libertad. ¿Por qué? Porque pienso que lo que comento yo como libertad en TFMP es tan ligero comparado con la libertad de expresión y el daño a la libertad del fundamentalismo en general. Y porque por supuesto, siendo francesa y viendo como se ha gestionado el asunto de la inmigración y del islamismo, no puedo no sentirme tocada.

 Cada vez que ocurre una matanza, no puedo dejar de preguntarme que lleva a una(s) persona(s) a ir tan lejos, a matar por sus creencias. Y aquí lo extiendo a matanzas en institutos o cualquier acto en lo cual se mata a otr@s sin conocerles. ¿Qué lleva una persona a enrolarse en sectas o a unirse a los fanáticos? ¿Qué tienen en común?

Hay explicaciones de todo tipo, explicaciones y teorías políticas, sociológicas, y hasta antropológicas, pero nadie habla de que tipo de vínculos afectivos tienen estas personas, que tipo de identidad es la que les sirve de referencia. No estoy hablando de quitarles responsabilidad en absolute pero algo debe de pasar. ¿Cómo fueron criadas?¿Qué tipo de relación tuvieron desde su infancia con su alrededor?¿Que lazos emocionales? ¿Qué base afectiva? ¿Qué les da que no tengan el pertenecer a estos grupos?

 Para mi claramente hay un punto fundamental detrás de estas preguntas y es lo que más me ha impactado: la calidad de la relación padres e hij@s. Y yo tengo una responsabilidad: no solo que los míos sean tolerantes y respetuosos de los demás pero también que sepan elegir, que sean suficientemente sólidos para no volverse victimas del fanatismo, para que no caigan en busqueda de referencias extremas…Y para poder ayudarlas en esto, quiero ser presente, con ellos, dedicarles todo el tiempo posible para darles estas bases. Este es mi propósito de 2015: vivir en el presente porque los vínculos con los que quiero es lo único que realmente cuenta en esta vida.

 


Esta entrada fue publicada en Uncategorized y etiquetada , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

