Culture has no boundaries

Not long ago, I found myself surprisingly singing along with my husband and children, a very typical Spanish song from the 90s…just as if it had been part of me, just as if I had grown up listening to it, going out in the Penta, a mythical movida bar in Madrid and just as if this song would have reminded me of my teenager time spent in Madrid…but I was raised in Paris, spent some time in Germany and some years in London…so, really, I had never ever listened or even known the lyrics of this song before coming over to Madrid…

So, is that it? Does it mean I have turned Spanish now? Is that the result of those 10 years of Madrid life and 15 spent with my Spaniard? Does it also explain the fact that during summer, I only want to have gazpacho for dinner?

But, when I was living in Germany, I used to drink a lot of milk and ate Abendbrot every night with pleasure…so, was I as well German for a while? And, whilst in London, I loved to go to the pub every Friday and even started to dress lighter to go out…

Well, for sure, I am nothing of this and everything at the same time. I actually believe that choosing our culture, mixing consciously or (often unconsciously) the best out of all the cultures we meet, is a step towards freedom.
But does that mean that we reject our roots? To what extend should we stick to our culture? Which benefits do we have to understand and incorporate new cultures?
According to me, it is clearly an endless opportunity to open up to other ways of living and thinking.

I therefore want to thank my parents for challenging me to learn languages, for showing me that behind each nationality, there is a first a human being with a heart who can teach me many things. That nothing excludes but on the contrary, everything adds up. Thanks for having enabled me to discover new cultures freely, for showing me how to travel fearless and especially, learning to know me better thanks to this mix of experiences. Knowing other cultures is a trip in itself and actually, much more an inner trip Travelling to freedom. Hopefully this is something I will be able to transmit to my kids.
And you? Where do you come from? Which culture(s) have impacted you? How did it help you or on the opposite, how did it hinder you?

El otro día me sorprendí cantando una canción española típica de los 90, con mi marido y mis hijos…como si hubiera sido parte de mí, como si hubiera crecido con esta canción, como si saliendo en el famoso bar de la movida madrileña el Penta, me hubiera recordado aquellos tiempos de mi adolescencia pasada en Madrid…pero es que yo crecí en Francia, viví en Alemania un rato y en Londres unos años y nunca, nunca…antes de venirme a Madrid había escuchado ni tarareado esta canción…

¿Eso es entonces? Estar ya españolizada? Son estos 10 años viviendo aquí y estos 15 compartidos con mi querido Español que me han dado esto? ¿Es por ello también que, en verano, solo quiero cenar gazpacho?

Pero si, en Alemania bebía mucha leche y me tomaba el Abendbrot con gusto, cada noche…ósea que también he sido alemana por una temporada? Y en Londres, me iba encantada al pub cada viernes, hasta me abrigaba poco para salir….

Pues no!  Creo que no soy nada de esto y a la vez soy todo ello. Justo me parece que elegir la cultura que será nuestra de forma consciente (o a menudo, inconsciente), empapándonos de todas las que no rodean cogiendo lo mejor de cada una, es un paso más hacia la libertad.

Pero ¿puede significar esto mismo que renegamos nuestras raíces? ¿Hasta qué punto tenemos que aferrarnos a nuestra cultura?¿Qué beneficios al entender e incorporar otras culturas?

Para mi claramente es una oportunidad sin fin de abrimos a otras formas de vivir y de pensar.

Quiero dar las gracias a mis padres por haberme empujado a aprender idiomas, por haberme enseñado que detrás de cada nacionalidad, hay primero una persona con un corazón y que me puede enseñar muchas cosas. Que nada excluye el otro sino más bien, todo enriquece. Gracias por haberme hecho libre de conocer nuevas culturas, de viajar sin temor y sobre todo, de aprender sobre mi misma gracias a esta mezcla. Conocer otra cultura es un viaje, y realmente, mucho más al corazón de un@ mism@. Ver mi ultimo post sobre https://freemeproject.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/travelling-to-freedom/
Ojala pudiera hacerlo mismo con mis hij@s.
Y tu? ¿De donde vienes? ¿Qué culturas te han marcado¿ ¿Cómo te ayudaron o al contrario, como te pueden haber cohibido?

Esta entrada fue publicada en Uncategorized y etiquetada , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

