Respectfully ignoring the rules

IMG_5916

Why do rules exist and how to educate my children in the way I see them? This question has been rounded my mind ever since I became a mum.

I am a “free human being” by definition, which means I usually struggle with rules….and even though I am convinced that children need a frame to refer to as well as some rules in order to develop with self-confidence, this topic is one of my main paradoxes regarding raising up.

A year ago, I bumped into this shop window in Copenhagen and this message really resonated in me: RESPECTFULLY ignoring the rules.

Why should we sometimes ignore the rules or simply not respect them? When can we do that? And how should we do it?

My purpose is obviously not to convert this post into a call for anarchism! Let’s look at the 3 main benefits for applying this message to our lives.

The first one is clearly the feeling of complete freedom that we can enjoy whilst ignoring some rules. When I was a child, I often heard my dad and grandma telling me off for using “inappropriate language for a girl”. I used whilst growing up to answer provocatively “Who said so?..and I have to admit that I love saying unexpected things in the most unexpected moments because I am jumping the rules!
For me, this is exactly the same as the level of communication you are “allowed” to have within your company. Who decides who you should be entitled to speak directly or no? Of course, respect means that we should always involve in a way or another our direct manager so that he/she does not feel escalated and is part of the initiative. But why should we follow so many unwritten rules?

The second reason is creativity. My children see so many things in a way I don’t. This clean and fresh look is the result of not having barriers and I believe this is one of the most beautiful treasure in life. How many of us, adults, are shaped by rules and visions that actually are blocking us from seeing and using our full potential?

The third reason is non conformism. “If you think you can do a thing or think you can’t do a thing, you are right” Henry Ford. I believe we should develop this attitude in everyone: not accepting everything that is written or simply generally approved. Following the rules strictly means – according to me – less capacity to take distance and therefore chose consciously what we really want to do.

What about you? Which rules do you ignore? Which benefits do you get from doing that?

Desde que tengo hij@s, tengo cada vez más presente una pregunta: ¿Por qué existen las reglas y como inculcar a mis hij@s mi forma de verlas?

Soy un ser libre y por definición me cuestan las reglas…aunque pienso que los niños necesitan marcos de referencia y ciertas reglas para poder desarrollarse con seguridad, este tema es una de mis grandes paradojas a la hora de educar.

Hace un año, me encontré con esta vitrina en Copenhague y desde entonces, me persigue: RESPECTFULLY IGNORING THE RULES.

¿Por qué darse el gusto de no respetar las reglas o simplemente ignorarlas de vez en cuando? ¿Cuándo hacerlo? Y como hacerlo?
Sin que sea una llamada al anarquismo, comparto tres de las principales ventajas que le veo.

La primera es claramente la sensación de libertad completa que un@ puede experimentar saltándose algunas reglas. Siempre tengo en la cabeza a mi padre y mi abuela diciéndome que “una niña no puede hablar asi..:”Con los años, mi respuesta fue cada vez más provocativa “ Quien lo dice?” hasta que hoy uno de mis pequeños placeres confesables es decir cosas inesperadas en momentos inesperados. Lo mismo se aplica a nivel de comunicación dentro de la empresa. Aunque haya niveles jerárquicos marcados, quien decide si, si o no, puedo hablar directamente con uno de los jefes o no? Claro, el respeto tendrá que verse en las formas que uso para explicar o involucrar a mi manager directo en esta comunicación para evitar herirle pero quien me lo impide?

La segunda es la creatividad. Mis hij@s ven tantas cosas que yo ya ni siquiera veo. Esta mirada limpia, sin prejuicios, es todo el resultado de no tener barreras y me parece uno de los mayores tesoros que tenemos en esta vida. ¡ Cuantos adultos estamos formateados por reglas, visiones que nos impiden ver y usar todo el potencial que llevamos dentro?

La tercera es el no conformismo. ”Tanto si piensas que lo puedes hacer como si piensas que no lo puedes hacer, estas en lo cierto” Henry Ford. No conformarse con lo escrito o dicho de forma generalizada, es una actitud que deberíamos de desarollar en tod@s. Seguir las reglas a raja tabla conlelva – es mi punto de vista- menos capacidad de tomar distancia y de elección consciente de lo que un@ quiere realmente hacer”.

Y vosotr@s, ¿Qué reglas ignoráis? Y que beneficios os trae?

Esta entrada fue publicada en Uncategorized y etiquetada , , , , , , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

