6 ways of buying time

time buy
What is the most expensive currency nowadays? Looking at the Post Easter depression I can sense around, I believe you will join me in saying that it is TIME.
And I hereby declare myself officially a buyer of time. And this focus is actually one of the main pillars to help me bring to reality my personal and family life projects.

If you are interested in buying time, please be my guest. Here are 6 ways I believe that can help us to buy time and therefore freedom!

1.Working part time

Ever since my first kid was born, I decided to work at 80%. Concretely and because I work in consulting, it means one day- off a week, which is the day my kids don’t go to school in the afternoon.

I can hear the whispers around this point and I understand all of them. Yes, I am probably lucky that the company I work for allows me working part time. And Yes, I can until now afford this moneywise. But let’s face reality. Everything in life has always a price and I have made my mind: I buy time.
Is my life pink? Of course not! Is it always laughs and pure love on my days off? Of course not. In my case, the price to pay for buying my day off means 20% salary cut off and a constant struggle to preserve this day, not working or attending client’s phone calls, being fully there with myself and my beloved one and sometimes, having actually to work on those days.

And let’s face it: it has not had an impact on my career promotions because I meet my results, and I work hard for it. And even though it is tough to manage and respect it, it is from far away the best decision I have done. Lunch with my kids on Wednesday, getting to pick them up at school and talking with their teachers has no price, without counting beautiful bike rides with my little one in the sun, time for naps and special long bath times in the evening…

I would do it again, and I will stick to it because it is my “air bubble” of the week, for me and for my family. It is when I get to share valuable time with them, where I am really there.
This 20% salary decrease has no price for me. I am buying time!

If you decide to go for this schedule, I think it is always wise to remember the following: meet your results, be flexible and at the same time, disciplined with your day off.

2. Changing our perception of time- it is a whole, everything is a choice directly linked to the meaning of our life
Yes, it sounds as dramatic as it says. Our time management is directly linked to the way we manage our life. If you go for lunch 1h30 with colleagues or friends, do not expect to be able to arrive that early at home in the evening. If you chose to go shopping, be aware that you might not have as much time to think or even read. It all depends of what are your priorities and how they fit within the type of life you chose. This also goes with saying no and negotiating with the people around us. So, we need to think, decide and put things into action. And this is what will enable us to buy time on things that really matter for us!

3.Sticking to it– kill the procrastinator that lives inside you!
Focus, do things when they have not become urgent yet in order to do them well, with no stress and saving time for doing something else. Working by small reachable objectives is key to being productive and thus buying time for doing other things. Discipline and thorough time management are keys. If you say you do something, do it and limit the time spent on it.

4.Running away from technologies –Technologies are great but they also make us waste so much time. The world is ours on internet and it makes us invest time on things that might not be as key for us. That is why some months ago I created a Phone box in the entrance where my and my husband’s phone need to sleep whilst arriving home. We also invested in a proper alarm clock in order to keep mobiles outside of the bedroom. A wonderful change in our life!

5.Investing in more experimental gifts than material ones (have a read through my last article Experiences vs. things)

6.Planning it – quality time in and mud time out.
Plan mud time – I hate grocery shopping with my kids. It always ends up in drama. So I hardly ever go with them. I don’t even see the beauty of running down the supermarket aisles hand by hand with my husband…come on, there is other much more sexy places…at least for me. So, when do we go shopping? Lunch time, in the evening after 9.00mp whilst kids are asleep, on our own, between clients meetings, just before coming back home in the evening. Handle all you can online so that you can do it from wherever. Invest those 6 euros in getting the grocery delivered at home during a time schedule that you can fit in with no issue.
Plan quality time: Invest in a babysitter – for the sake of your couple, it is really worth the price. Whatever plan it is, if it just drinking a beer at the bar downstairs. Do it! Be wise, negotiate a price or take a young person.
I am sure you all do some of this tips already. What other ideas do you have? Very much looking forward to reading your comments. Hugs

¿Cuál es la moneda la más cara hoy en día? Viendo la cantidad de comentarios en internet relativos a la depresión post- Semana Santa, creo que estaréis de acuerdo conmigo que claramente se trata del TIEMPO. Es por ello, que me declaro oficialmente compradora de tiempo. Y este enfoque es uno de los pilares de mi vida a la hora de hacer realidad mis proyectos de vida tanto personales como familiares.

Si te interesa comprar tiempo, te invito a leer este artículo. Aquí comparto 6 formas de comprarlo y por ello, comprar tambien libertad.

1.Trabajando a tiempo parcial

Cuando nació mi primer hijo, decidí trabajar al 80%. Concretamente, y por la particularidad del sector de la consultoría, esto se materializa con una jornada oficial a la semana sin trabajar. Y ese día coincide con el día que mis hij@s no tienen cole por la tarde.
Cuando menciono esto, suelo escuchar varios comentarios y tengo que decir que los entiendo todos. Si, seguramente tengo mucha suerte de trabajar por una empresa que acepta que trabaje a tiempo parcial, y sí, es cierto, soy una afortunada de poder permitírmelo financieramente. Pero también, seamos realistas. Todo en la vida tiene un precio y yo he decidido comprar tiempo.
¿Es mi vida color rosa? Desde luego que no. ¿Los días que no trabajo siempre fluyen y huelen a amor puro? Claro que no. En mi caso, el precio a pagar para comprar una jornada a la semana con los míos implica una reducción del 20% de mi salario sin hablar de la lucha constante para preservar este día: que se trate de no trabajar o atender a clientes, como de estar al 100% conmigo misma o mis seres queridos durante estas jornadas e incluso a veces de trabajar de forma esporádica en las mismas.
Y seamos doblemente realistas: este formato no parece haber tenido efecto sobre mi evolución profesional ya que trabajo duro para llegar a mis objetivos.
Aunque es un reto respetar esta fórmula, para mí ha sido desde luego una de mis mejores decisiones. Poder compartir la comida de mis hij@s los miércoles después de haberlo recogido del cole pudiendo intercambiar con sus profesores no tiene precio. Ni tampoco las escapadas en bici al sol con mi peque, algunas siestas por ahí y tomar el tiempo del baño sin prisas las tardes de estos días especiales…
Sin duda, lo volvería a hacer, y lo seguiré haciendo porque es mi burbuja de aire de la semana para mí y para mi familia. Es cuando estoy aquí. Estos 20% menos y estos esfuerzos constantes no tienen precio. Estoy comprando tiempo!

Pero creo que siempre tenemos que recordar lo siguiente cuando decidimos elegir esta fórmula: hay que alcanzar o sobrepasar sus resultados, ser flexible y a la vez, disciplinados.

2.Cambiando nuestra percepción del tiempo – es un todo donde cada elemento es una decisión directamente vinculada con el sentido que le damos a nuestra vida.
Si, lo sé. Suena tan dramático como lo es. La gestión de nuestro tiempo está directamente ligada con la forma en la cual manejamos nuestra vida.
Si vamos a comer durante 1 hora y media con compañeros o amigos, no podemos esperar estar temprano en casa por la noche. Si decidimos irnos de compras, esto implicara renunciar a hacer otra cosa como puede ser leer un libro o simplemente pensar. Todo depende siempre de cuáles son nuestras prioridades y como encajan con el estilo de vida que elegimos. A todo esto hay que añadirle también atreverse a negociar con su entorno y decir que no de vez en cuando. Entonces, tenemos que pensar primero, luego, decidir para por fin actuar. Este mismo proceso permite comprar tiempo para las cosas que realmente cuenta para nosotros!

3.Teniendo disciplina – matando al “procrastinador” que todos tenemos dentro!
Tener enfoque, hacer las cosas cuando todavía no se han vuelto urgentes para hacerlas bien y sin estrés, nos permitirá tener tiempo para hacer otras cosas. Fijarse objetivos pequeños es clave para incrementar la productividad y tener tiempo para hacer o no hacer nada.
La disciplina y la gestión del tiempo son las claves. Cuando se dice que se hace, se hace y se limita el tiempo para poder comprar tiempo de hacer otras cosas! Todos lo sabemos y cuantos de nosotros lo aplicamos?

4. Huyendo de las nuevas tecnologías –me encantan pero cuanto tiempo nos hacen perder? El mundo se abre a nosotros en internet y muy a menudo, invertimos tiempo en cosas que no son importantes para nosotros. Es por ello que hace unos meses, hemos lanzado dos iniciativas en casa que os pueden interesar. La primera: una caja para teléfonos en la entrada donde tienen que “dormir” los cacharros nada más entrar. Y la segunda: invertir en un despertador para dejar a fuera de la habitación los móviles. Desde entonces, nuestra vida ha cambiado!
5. Invirtiendo en experiencias en vez de cosas materiales. Ya os hable de esto en mi último artículo.experiencias vs. cosas
6.Planificando tanto el tiempo de calidad como el tiempo “basura”
Tiempo basura: la compra. Odio hacer la compra con mis hijos porque siempre acaba en drama. Conclusion: casi nunca voy con ellos. Tampoco veo la belleza de pasear mano en mano con mi marido en un supermercado…vamos, que hay sitio más sexy…por lo menos para mi..Entonces, cuando se hace la compra? Pues, a la hora de comer, entre dos reuniones, por la noche después de las 21.00 cuando duermen los niños, por internet, justo a la salida del trabajo antes de volver a casa…Además invirtiendo 6 euros, te la llevan a casa cuando mejor te venga…esto, es comprar tiempo para mi!
Tiempo de calidad: la canguro. ¿Qué precio tiene que nuestra pareja sobreviva a nuestra sociedad de locura? Que se trate de tomarse una cervecita abajo de casa, hay que hacerlo. A veces se pueden negociar tarifas..
Estoy convencida que ya hacéis varios de estos puntos. ¿Que otros trucos teneis? Me encantaría leeros. Un abrazo.

Esta entrada fue publicada en Uncategorized y etiquetada , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

